Sunday, November 27, 2005

One more reason Wal-mart sucks

Small business and consumer choice is being crushed by this corporate giant
first mom and pop now blockbuster and netflix, before you know it McDonald's and GM

read this article http://www.engadget.com/entry/1234000510026849/

Friday, November 25, 2005

How Chill are you?


Worldchill

Tell the world how chill you feel at this site created by Coca-Cola. An interactive screen-saver is available for your pleasure

Post Turkey Freetime

www.milliondollarhomepage.com an interesting concept to make money. I guess it has been around for a while but I just found out about it.
http://www.weirdwarworld.com/home.html
http://www.slate.com/id/2128818/

Wednesday, November 23, 2005

Photography


Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Photography




Guatemala 2003

Wal Mart "The High Cost of Low Prices"

I had gone to Coolidge Corner theater to go see this film last night. Its sad to see the realities of the walton family and thier ethics or lack thier of. Please if you have an opportunity please go see this movie or order the dvd on the Walmart the movie website.


I will be touching upon this topic more often now that Im aware of the truth behind walmart.

some facts from the movie that may be of interest to you here

• http://www.walmartmovie.com/facts.php

other sites of interest

• http://www.wakeupwalmart.com/
• http://walmartwatch.com/blog

Instead of allowing a union to form at one of their canadian stores they closed it see it here

• http://www.retrovsmetro.org/blog/id/395

This blog recently shut down by walmart .. see what they dont want you to know

• http://www.alwayslowprices.net/

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Have an Apple

I have been extremely busy lately and as a result have neglected my blog. As you can see I have been working on changing my template. Its still in the works. I couldn't wait until it was completely done so i threw up a new header.

I have a question about the holidays. What is up with the Holiday decorations already. Why cant they wait until the day before thanksgiving since we all know that the day after is the largest shopping day of the year. We could compromise. Everyone I talk to agrees that this would be a great idea. If I was a kid these days I would feel pretty ripped off. I used to look Fw to the the holiday decorations as they would slowly appear after Thanksgiving and onto the first week or two of January. I was driving to NY three weeks ago and noticed a Barns and Noble along the highway with decorations. And Starbucks already started handing out there holiday cups a while back. Its not even officially winter yet. I hate that they think it is even necessary anymore. I mean if we celebrate xmas we are sure to shop ... And I would love to see research that shows that it would be any different without this early advertising. Is this to much to ask?

Oh I wanted to be a little nerdy and have all you mac lovers drool over this new G5.
  • Apple News


  • later

    Friday, November 11, 2005

    Photo Archive




    Just some photos I pulled from my Iphoto archive... I took these last spring

    On Photography

    I have been away from my blog for some time mostly because I have been spending the past week taking lots of photos of the city. The fall is a great time for taking pictures. Mostly because of the colors but also the city seems to transform into a slightly different world.

    The ugly made beautiful

    I have been thinking lately is their such thing as an ugly photograph? One who takes a picture usually does so because that person thinks that the object or subject(s) that they are capturing contain some sort of visual appeal. In other words they think it is beautiful. Photography has the power to make any object beautiful and mostly because it has been identified and realized through the lens of the camera as well as the mind of the photographer. Consider yourself for a second and those times that you have regrettably wanted to photograph something for its immense beauty and possibly it only appeared that way at that moment and later when you see it again its no longer important. It was that moment of time and that frame of mind that made you want to capture it for later. Photographs are unlike any other medium when you consider that they are just microseconds of time.

    Cropping

    We judge our own appearance through photos and qualify ourselves as attractive because of them. They are the only true way of seeing ourselves as others do. A mirror is a backwards reflection and often we dont recognize or would like to deny our appearance of our selves within a photo because it is an image of ourselves that we dont recognize, not the one we are used to seeing in refection. Yesterday in the dark room a peer said to me that they did not believe in cropping a photo because it alters that photo and removes its original intention and framing. I quickly thought to myself and replied but the camera and the rectangular frame it offers is not always the size that you would like it to be in order for it to compliment the reality that you are trying to represent. I had not considered it that much before I blurted out this answer but I'm pretty sure that I am going to stick with this from an artistic point of view. At one time kodak camera took pictures that were circular so the whole standard of photography could have been different anyway. I must limit this practice of cropping to certain instances. As far as journalistic photos I feel that they must never be cropped after the fact in order to avoid changing thier meaning. Any editing done for that purpose would have been at time of capturing and if a journalist was photographing with the intent to imply different meaning then they should not be a journalist. Obvious I know but I hope to inspire a bit of conversation about this topic. These idea were inspired by the Book "On Photography" by Susan Sontag

    p.s

    I just read my review by Ms Chatty... not so good but it was what I was expecting. Ive been meaning to get rid of the ads anyway because they are worthless. I just jumped on the bandwagon when I started so ill take my $32.12 and go to the bar. I would love to change my template but I have not really had time nor do i know the best way of going about it. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Is there a place for free templates or is that cheating?

    Tuesday, November 08, 2005

    Aspen, NY

    So I made it down to NJ again this past weekend. On friday Heather and I made it to the Brooklyn Museum of Art and I got to see Edward Burtynsky photography. I have to highly recommend that you go there and see it. He has really made colour photography that is appealing to almost anyone. His high contrast and large prints some over 40"x60" are absolutely amazing. The rest of the Museum was great with a nice american contemporary art section. Their was so much to see although we only spent about an hour looking, we had to leave sooner than expected since all of the walking we did earlier made us so hungry.
    Saturday was my photo gig at a new bar called Aspen 30 West 22th St. New York, NY between 5th and 6th. Its grand opening is this friday the 11th. Besides taking photos most of the night the crowd was great and the food and drinks were flowing. The bar has a great colorado ski lodge theme that is unlike any other bar in NY. I can assure you that this will be a great place for the weekend scene and even though it was not yet complete when I was there I can assure you that they have not cut any corners in making this into a fantastic night spot. Ill have some photos up in a few days if you want to come back and check it out.
    I have not had much time to write this week so I just wanted to post a little something to make me feel better.

    "Brand" the fabric of our lives ...Reposted

    Once again I find my self considering Americas fascination with luxury and material things, its a part of culture that fascinates me. First I must admit at risk of loosing some credibility here that I'm guilty of liking expensive things, and the powerful emotional fulfillment of purchasing these lux items. It has really made me feel good many times in the past. Its kind of like fast food. Taste good feels good but interestingly it is downright harmful to your body. Why else do you think they make Tums. But whay does it feel good, its mostly for the wrong reasons. Secondly since I have ads on my site it may seem that I contradict my beliefs. Well as a poor artist trying to pay for school I am trying to take a little back. If you find this outrageous then say so or dont click on them.

    Ad Pollution and Branded Clutter

    I was thinking to myself the other night what would this world look like without all of the commercial branding? I mean how many places do you see trademarks, symbols and visual cues promoting consumption and ideals. Even though I may be stating the obvious here I feel like listing a few in hope to make you consider the shear saturation of these images starting with the basics; television, billboards, magazines, newspapers, internet, busses, trucks, bus stops, bathroom walls, subway stations, store fronts, shirts, pants, shoes, sunglasses, watches, sidewalks, the packages in your fridge and cabinets, on your cell phone in the elevator, at your desk right now. Brands are everywhere. Its not only that these are sources of advertisement but its the fact that we spend so much time surrounded by them that it becomes a new type of pollution a branded clutter and it disturbs me that people just take with a grain of salt. People are lining up to work in high paid advertising firms, (its not to hard to see why they might be so high paying) just so they can create cleaver images to sell products back to us and themselves. Meanwhile they are creating more clutter that most of us perceive as invasive, yet we do nothing about it. We look up to their giant posters in the sky as if they are images of gods high above the highways and buildings and then enter their stores make financial sacrifices to them then leave with a smile and sense of acceptance.

    Acceptance;

    Lets consider Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman who meets a man with money and power, hes at the top of it all the penthouse man. But shes just a hooker, symbolized by the clothing she wears and the way she is perceived by others. This movie presents a perfect example of cultural acceptance by means of personal possessions. Richard Gere gives her money to go downtown to purchase what he calls respectable attire. She asks someone were to go and they said Rodeo Dr. the emerald city of american consumption where you can probably buy ruby red slippers. In order for Julia to go on a diner date with Richard she needs to wear something to achieve acceptance by those who are more fluent and justified by their taste in food, polo and Gucci suits. But the irony is that when she enters these stores she is not accepted. Why? She has entered a place that is for the wealthy. No! I don't think so its not that simple. first of all she has not mentioned her spending limits and two she does not know these people and they do not know her affiliation or past. But do they? Well for one she does not carry the latest Prada bag or wear the latest Cartier sunglasses and her dress is not from Rodeo Dr. These sales people would know, but do we all know this some how? Can we know is everyone tagged and labeled? Overall it seems to be that simple here in the U.S. Just by the clothes she is wearing indicate the size of her wallet and in the mind of those clerks in the store her likeliness of purchasing anything in it. These symbols are created by advertising. We can no longer just wear clothes drink certain wine or carry our labeled coffee around we must consider what they mean and to whom it attracts. Its not just about showing up to the interview with a suit and a tie anymore but entering daily life with symbolic class starting with a jog in the park iPod in hand, evian water at the gym, a starbucks coffee on the train a wallstreet paper in the elevator and gucci sunglasses at lunch on the patio all so that we can meet and associate with those whom judge us for our taste. I feel like you can't completely hold it against them but we should and we should feel guilty for doing the same. I feel like we have been trained to do this against our will. When you go to the mall today you commonly see people dressed to the nines and its not because they are fashion models its so when they enter the stores of luxury they will be welcomed by the salesperson as fluent and exit the store branded bag in hand without resembling new money. These people strive to look like they are part of the big league. Some of them might actually be and I feel that they may be wasting their money on these $15,000 handbags but this is a whole other topic. Why do we want these symbols and images on our clothing especially since everyone else is wearing the same thing. Dont people want to strive to be different from the rest. I read about trend setters that try to be ahead of the game so that to avoid being like the rest. This doesn't mean that they are buying the latest brand or lux items either it may be something of lesser expense, until the big labels start to sell this trend and market it. I am beginning to ramble here.

    What I really wanted to say is how cleaver these companies are. They can create cultural norms acceptable tastes for everyone to emulate. All while setting the price ridiculously high. How does it get so high? Why do we go to extreme measures and buy fake items that resemble the lux ones? Is it so that the companies can control the higher price of the authentic ones. Do we really want ourselves to be human billboards? We walk out of a store with logos on our bags and purchase clothing with emblems on them. What makes these stores so popular and howcome? I'll have to save this for another entree, for now I have said enough. Maybe its not as wide spread as I make it sound but I can honestly say that I see this trend on a daily basis.

    Thursday, November 03, 2005




    Is this Irony


    An image I took while I was in Colorado somewhere.

    Wednesday, November 02, 2005

    Walmart Documentary


    Its about time that someone stuck it to that wally world of cheep labor and undermining corporate bigwigs. This film is sure to be the next big documentary with people lining up at the door. The new walmart documentary "The High Cost of Low Price" will be screening the week of Nov 13-19th


    I'm going to the Wal-Mart movie screening in the South End Boston, you should come too. More details are here:

    http://action.bravenewfilms.org/event/wm_screening.jsp?event_KEY=7181
    You can find out more about Robert Greenwald's documentary, "Wal-Mart: The High Cost of Low Price", and other showings here:

    http://www.walmartmovie.com/

    Tuesday, November 01, 2005

    untitled

    Yes... I'm Strait

    There must be something with my natural aurora this week. On sunday I was walking to the local bus stop and this young guy about my age looks me right in the eyes and says "hey there cutie" It took me a second to realize what had just happened and we both just kept walking. I started to laugh and thought to my self man it would have been funny if i had responded with something like " whats up sexy." So I started the week with a gay vibe. This is not new to me i've had run ins with the other side numerous times in the past. Ok so I thought it was over and then yesterday on the way home from class I was admiring the tricker treaters and all the locals out on their front steps drinking wine handing out candy when suddenly three men dressed up as sailors obviously gay ... (this area is most likely 40-50% gay men) one of them says "Happy Halloween handsome" and politely I said "how are you guys" one of them quickly retorted " we'll sailor would be much better if you came back to party with us later." I chuckled out loud and kept walking. So now im feeling a bit weird at this point. Is it just a halloween vibe or is there something about my attire lately that screams, Im handsomely gay? I need some straitness.

    Saturday was a good time. My roommate ryan and his girlfriend through a great party at her place. Lots of food, jello shots and a keg. I played beer pong for a bit met some new people and ended up going to Tonic with them for a couple of drinks. Everyones costumes were great. I ended up at two other parties that night and well of coarse I drank to much. I think it was a combination of being a long time since I have drank and no having anything to eat that night. I was hung over for most of sunday. I really need to stop mixing my drinks.

    Im heading to NY this weekend, I have a photo gig for someone's birthday party and it should be cool since im a guest as well as photographer for the evening. This way I can lay back a little and enjoy myself. Also I hope to head over to the Brooklyn Museum of Art to see a photographers installation by the name of Edward Burtynsky Last weekend heather and I went to the MFA to see Ansel Adams work which was extremely nice. I have only seen his later stuff in a book that I have. The progression of his work was nice to see as well as inspiring for me noting that with time my work will become more refined and improved. I have been meaning to put up some recent work of my own since most of the stuff on my site is older. I have done quite a bit of B/W since then and need to post a few. Oh well maybe next week.