Advertising America

Just in case you have not driven cross country lately let me tell you about the latest trend in Advertising. Its not secret that Americans love there country and that that post 9/11 you can drive cross country and rarely see a overpass without an American flag centered over the highway not to much wrong with that since it is a tribute to those lost in the WTC's but in other ways we have gone to far. Trust me I just drove 3000 miles and I saw that same trend as far west as colorado .
So what is the next step for Americas-ego. Well as I drove though Stanford CT last week my freind and I could not ignore the huge billboard advertising our country, a billboard for America. No better way to do it in three phrases... it looked something like this
I I
I Superbowl I
I Supersize I
I Superman I
I America I
So now when you think of america you think of line-backers and bud-lite advertisements of the super-bowl oh and ozzy osbourne popping out of an oversized football helmet. As well as overpaid... super giant corporations, organizations and franchises that seem to find new ways of ruining sports more and more every-year
Super-sized ... this is the truth.... FAT FAT FAT americans did we mention that we are fat, lazy and full of Mc'ds, who drink big gulps while smoking turkish cigarettes. so super-sized that we stand still on people movers and escalators because we are so damn lazy!!!! and would probably buy anything that says "no exercise needed loose weight" with an disclaimer at the bottom " this product cant guarantee that it does not support terrorism" yah super-sized what a great representation of the over all population.
Oh and Finally superman... A country obsessed with Penile enlargement... Viagra popping, womanizing, sexually empowered men...not that im a feminist by any means but what kind of message does this sign give to everyone... that we are just super obsessed with everything powerful? Or is it just our inability to take life with a grain of salt ... im surprised that they didnt put SuperPower, supermodel and supermarket that pretty much sums up the entire infrastructure of this country... i dont mean to sound so anti america but come on people this is not the way we should be representing our country.... i think we should stick to the flags and leave the symbolism and labeling up to the individual...




2 Comments:
India had its own 'India Shining' campaign during the elections. Was quite amusing! All you need to sell India is to show a few turbans from Rajasthan and a few tuskers with half naked mahouts!
Amen to all you said! I'm pretty tired of seeing those bumper stickers "Pride in America". I don't see them much anymore surprised some even have them still on their cars. We have a lot of bumpers stickers on cars here telling you if you don't have pride in america then "we will find you"..whooo...scary..Hi Hitler!..I don't think I feel that way very much these days, "pride" in this country much. I hope the many soldiers that have died was not for nothing. I'm kind of embrassed that some think we are almighty better than anyone else and we run the damn show! Powerful ego's are getting way too large here in this country. At least they don't have those huge big 2 or 3 flags waving from their SUV's as they drive along anymore. Hello?I've met some online from other countries who keep asking me what is happening to America we seem full of ourselves..
Fat? Well if you were to come to Medford Oregon it is almost all that you would see..lazy people won't walk anywhere not even a block or down the street. Never in my entire life have I seen such HUGMONGOUS people and so young ones also, they waddle when they walk and breath hard and you can't walk down an aisle because they are taking the whole thing! I stick out like a sore thumb and the "large women" here can't stand me, they look me up and down and make comments, and I don't even know them nor they me they just don't like me because I am not fat! I walk and I do a lot of physical work just trying to survive and take care of my life all on my own..they sit on their you know what and bitch about their boyfriend or husband who won't mow the lawn or do anything but they are doing the same darn thing..sitting, eating, smoking and drinking! Physical exercise doesn't mean you have to go to a gym..you can take walks dance clean your house for gods sake! Thats how I get mine..Actually I need to gain a few pounds. I work too hard phycially!..lol.its true.
okay thanks for letting me vent but you and are in agreement with a lot of things it appears. Good post!..Good job!..
Oh your a Pisces but of course!..lol
Rhiannon
Post a Comment
<< Home